Touchpads, Temptation and Mark 14:38

frustrationMark 14:38  And he said to them, “Keep watch, and pray that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

My laptop computer has an extremely sensitive touch pad.  Sometimes just my scrolling over a page causes other sites to open and I unwillingly agree to have cookies deposited on my hard drive or some other unwanted nonsense.  This morning I was on Facebook and suddenly a page popped up with options to select a different language.  As my mouse traveled to the top of the page to go “back” I apparently hesitated over Chinese and inadvertently selected it as my primary means of communication.  Now all my settings and tools are printed in foreign characters and I have no idea what to click on in order to get back to English.

Temptation is like my delicate computer touch pad.  Sometimes my thoughts will suddenly flicker over a juicy piece of gossip to share or pause while I’m yearning for a second helping of dessert.  If I hesitate for the slightest Nano second — I’m doomed. 

In Mark 14:38 when Jesus says to “keep watch” I believe we are expected to be on the alert for a temptation before it strikes.  Like a sentry on guard the enemy is already known and expected.  Only when my enticements are recognized and acknowledged as problem areas does Jesus say to, “pray.” There is a logical order to his instructions that should be followed.

Today I choose to prepare in advance and pray for help with my urges to go for second helpings and my impulse to repeat the occasional juicy rumor. I’m certain if I’m specific and work on one or two desires at a time the Holy Spirit willingly does the rest. I will also buy a battery for my wireless mouse to use—I don’t have to keep repeating the same errors when I know the solution.

 

~ by Andrea T on August 9, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
